Friday, June 28, 2013

June 28: Korean singer Seohyun (Seo Joo-hyun) of Girls' Generation is 22-years-old today.

Seohyun was born on June 28, 1991, in Seoul, South Korea. In 2003, Seohyun was discovered by a talent staff while riding in a subway train, and urged to audition for SM Entertainment. She currently attends Dongguk University with fellow Girls' Generation member, Yoona, majoring in acting. She is also an accomplished pianist.

In 2010, Seohyun was appointed by the Seoul Metropolitan Office as Korea's Goodwill Ambassador for Student Fitness. In 2012, Seohyun was appointed as the Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nation 2012 Yeosu Expo. On October 11, 2011, Seohyun was inaugurated as a UNICEF envoy at Changseong-Dong, Seoul.

In 2007, Seohyun was chosen as a member of the 9-member group Girls' Generation. In 2012, Seohyun, along with fellow Girls' Generation members Taeyeon and Tiffany, formed a sub-unit called TaeTiSeo. The trio released their first album titled Twinkle on April 30, 2012.

Seohyun has released various singles with Jessica and Tiffany — the first called "Oppa Nappa" (Korean: "오빠 나빠", Bad Older Brother) and the second titled "Mabinogi" (It's Fantastic!) On February 17, 2009, Seohyun sang a duet with trot singer Joo Hyun-mi called "JjaRaJaJja" (Korean: "짜라자짜"). The song earned a nomination at the 2009 Asian Music Awards for Trot Music of the Year.

She also sang the song S.E.O.U.L with Super Junior's Kyuhyun, Ryeowook, Sungmin and Donghae and fellow Girls' Generation members Taeyeon, Jessica, Sooyoung and Sunny. She also sang the promotional song for Caribbean Bay with her fellow members Taeyeon, Jessica, Tiffany, Sunny, and members of the boy band 2PM.

She sang MBC drama Kim Soo Ros official soundtrack, entitled, It's Okay Even If It Hurts (Korean: 아파도 괜찮아요), which was released on June 25, 2010.

In October 2010, Seohyun was one of the twenty performers from different South Korean groups that recorded the song, "Let's Go", for the purpose of increasing public participation in the 2010 G-20 Seoul summit. She provided vocals along with labelmates Sungmin, Jonghyun and, Luna. In 2011, she was a featured artist in TVXQ's fifth studio album, Keep Your Head Down with the song Journey.

On October 11, Seohyun released a digital single "Dreams Comes True" together with Donghae for 2011 Asia Song Festival. This was a project by UNICEF, as the profit was donated to East Africa. On October 25, 2011, Seohyun released a digital single together with Kim Hyun Joong entitled "The Magic of Yellow Ribbon," which became the theme song of the commercial The Face Shop.

On February 13, 2012, Seohyun and Brown Eyes' singer Yoon Gun released a duet called "Don't Say No." On April 16, 2012, Seohyun sang the soundtrack for the SBS drama Fashion King, which starred fellow Girls' Generation member Yuri, with the song entitled "I'll Be Waiting."
For more about Seohyun and Girls’ Generation and visit this Website:


No comments:

Post a Comment